Code Section Group

Health and Safety Code - HSC

DIVISION 104. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH [106500 - 119405]

  ( Division 104 added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. )

PART 6. WHOLESALE FOOD [111940 - 113360]

  ( Part 6 added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. )

CHAPTER 10. Processed Pet Foods [113025 - 113120]

  ( Chapter 10 added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. )

ARTICLE 2. Licenses and Registration Certificates [113060 - 113070]
  ( Article 2 added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. )

113060.
  

Every person who manufactures a processed pet food in California shall first obtain a license from, and every person who manufactures a processed pet food for import into California from another state shall first obtain a registration certificate from, the department. Each license or registration certificate is good for one calendar year from the date of issue and is nontransferable.

An application for a license or registration certificate shall be made on an application form provided by the department.

(Added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. Effective January 1, 1996.)

113065.
  

A separate license shall be required for each processing plant located in California.

The annual license fee shall be one hundred dollars ($100). The annual registration fee shall be one hundred dollars ($100). The penalty for failure to apply for renewal of a license or registration certificate within 30 days after the expiration is thirty dollars ($30) and shall be added to the renewal fee and be paid by the applicant before the renewal license or registration certificate may be issued. All fees collected shall be expended as appropriated by the Legislature in the carrying out of the provisions of this chapter and the regulations adopted thereto.

The annual license fee for a pet food canner also licensed under Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 112650) is one hundred dollars ($100). No additional fee is payable by such a person for a license issued to him or her under that chapter.

(Added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. Effective January 1, 1996.)

113070.
  

An annual license or registration certificate shall be issued only when the following provisions have been met:

(a)  Inspection of the manufacturing facilities demonstrates that they are properly equipped and are operated in a sanitary manner.

(b)  In the case of an out-of-state manufacturer, the application for a registration certificate is accompanied by a certificate issued by a federal, state, or local health agency certifying that the processed pet foods manufactured conform to the requirements of this chapter or the regulations adopted hereunder.

(c)  The applicant submits to the department the label that would be attached to the container of each type of processed pet food and a complete list of the pet food ingredients thereof in their order of predominance by weight.

(Added by Stats. 1995, Ch. 415, Sec. 6. Effective January 1, 1996.)

HSCHealth and Safety Code - HSC2.