Code Section Group

Health and Safety Code - HSC

DIVISION 10. UNIFORM CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES ACT [11000 - 11651]

  ( Division 10 repealed and added by Stats. 1972, Ch. 1407. )

CHAPTER 10. Control of Users of Controlled Substances [11550 - 11595]

  ( Chapter 10 added by Stats. 1972, Ch. 1407. )

ARTICLE 4. Registration of Controlled Substance Offenders [11590 - 11595]
  ( Article 4 added by Stats. 1972, Ch. 1407. )

11590.
  

(a)  Except as provided in subdivisions (c) and (d), any person who is convicted in the State of California of any offense defined in Section 11350, 11351, 11351.5, 11352, 11353, 11353.5, 11353.7, 11354, 11355, 11357, 11358, 11359, 11360, 11361, 11363, 11366, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11368, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, 11383, or 11550, or subdivision (a) of Section 11377, or any person who is discharged or paroled from a penal institution where he or she was confined because of the commission of any such offense, or any person who is convicted in any other state of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the above-mentioned offenses, shall within 30 days of his or her coming into any county or city, or city and county in which he or she resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.

For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11377, 11378, 11379, or 11380, this subdivision shall apply only to offenses involving controlled substances specified in paragraph (12) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054 and paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 11055, and to analogs of these substances, as defined in Section 11401. For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11379 or 11379.5, this subdivision shall not apply if the conviction was for transporting, offering to transport, or attempting to transport a controlled substance.

(b)  Any person who is convicted in any federal court of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this state would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses enumerated in subdivision (a) shall within 30 days of his or her coming into any county or city, or city and county in which he or she resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.

(c)  This section does not apply to a conviction of a misdemeanor under Section 11357, 11360, or 11377.

(d)  The registration requirements imposed by this section for the conviction of offenses defined in Section 11353.7, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11377, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, or 11383, shall apply to any person who commits any of those offenses on and after January 1, 1990.

(Amended by Stats. 1990, Ch. 1417, Sec. 2. Effective September 28, 1990. Superseded on operative date of amendment by Stats. 1995, Ch. 714.)

11590.
  

(a)  Except as provided in subdivisions (c) and (d), any person who is convicted in the State of California of any offense defined in Section 11350, 11351, 11351.5, 11352, 11353, 11353.5, 11353.7, 11354, 11355, 11357, 11358, 11359, 11360, 11361, 11363, 11366, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11368, 11370.1, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, 11383, or 11550, or subdivision (a) of Section 11377, or any person who is discharged or paroled from a penal institution where he or she was confined because of the commission of any such offense, or any person who is convicted in any other state of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the above-mentioned offenses, shall within 30 days of his or her coming into any county or city, or city and county in which he or she resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.

For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11377, 11378, 11379, or 11380, this subdivision shall apply only to offenses involving controlled substances specified in paragraph (12) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054 and paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 11055, and to analogs of these substances, as defined in Section 11401. For persons convicted of an offense defined in Section 11379 or 11379.5, this subdivision shall not apply if the conviction was for transporting, offering to transport, or attempting to transport a controlled substance.

(b)  Any person who is convicted in any federal court of any offense which, if committed or attempted in this state would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses enumerated in subdivision (a) shall, within 30 days of his or her coming into any county or city, or city and county, in which he or she resides or is temporarily domiciled for that length of time, register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she resides or the sheriff of the county if he or she resides in an unincorporated area.

(c)  This section does not apply to a conviction of a misdemeanor under Section 11357, 11360, or 11377.

(d)  The registration requirements imposed by this section for the conviction of offenses defined in Section 11353.7, 11366.5, 11366.6, 11370.1, 11377, 11378, 11378.5, 11379, 11379.5, 11379.6, 11380, 11380.5, or 11383, shall apply to any person who commits any of those offenses on and after January 1, 1990.

(Amended by Stats. 1995, Ch. 714, Sec. 1. Effective January 1, 1996. Operative upon appropriation of funds as prescribed by Sec. 2 of Ch. 714.)

11591.
  

Every sheriff, chief of police, or the Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol, upon the arrest for any of the controlled substance offenses enumerated in Section 11590, or Section 11364, insofar as that section relates to paragraph (12) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054, of any school employee, shall, provided that he or she knows that the arrestee is a school employee, do one of the following:

(a)  If the school employee is a teacher in any of the public schools of this state, the sheriff, chief of police, or Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol shall immediately notify by telephone the superintendent of schools of the school district employing the teacher and shall immediately give written notice of the arrest to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing and to the superintendent of schools in the county where the person is employed. Upon receipt of the notice, the county superintendent of schools and the Commission on Teacher Credentialing shall immediately notify the governing board of the school district employing the person.

(b)  If the school employee is a nonteacher in any of the public schools of this state, the sheriff, chief of police, or Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol shall immediately notify by telephone the superintendent of schools of the school district employing the nonteacher and shall immediately give written notice of the arrest to the governing board of the school district employing the person.

(c)  If the school employee is a teacher in any private school of this state, the sheriff, chief of police, or Commissioner of the California Highway Patrol shall immediately notify by telephone the private school authority employing the teacher and shall immediately give written notice of the arrest to the private school authority employing the teacher.

(Amended by Stats. 2003, Ch. 536, Sec. 1. Effective January 1, 2004.)

11591.5.
  

Every sheriff or chief of police, upon the arrest for any of the controlled substance offenses enumerated in Section 11590, or Section 11364, insofar as that section relates to paragraph (9) of subdivision (d) of Section 11054, of any teacher or instructor employed in any community college district shall immediately notify by telephone the superintendent of the community college district employing the teacher or instructor and shall immediately give written notice of the arrest to the Office of the Chancellor of the California Community Colleges. Upon receipt of such notice, the district superintendent shall immediately notify the governing board of the community college district employing the person.

(Added by Stats. 1983, Ch. 1032, Sec. 3.)

11592.
  

Any person who, on or after the effective date of this section is discharged or paroled from a jail, prison, school, road camp, or other institution where he or she was confined because of the commission or attempt to commit one of the offenses described in Section 11590 shall, prior to such discharge, parole, or release, be informed of his or her duty to register under that section by the official in charge of the place of confinement and the official shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be required by the Department of Justice, stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has been explained to him or her. The official in charge of the place of confinement shall obtain the address where the person expects to reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or release and shall report that address to the Department of Justice. The official in charge of the place of confinement shall give one copy of the form to the person, and shall send two copies to the Department of Justice, which, in turn, shall forward one copy to the appropriate law enforcement agency having local jurisdiction where the person expects to reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or release.

(Amended by Stats. 2007, Ch. 130, Sec. 162. Effective January 1, 2008.)

11593.
  

Any person who, on or after the effective date of this section is convicted in the State of California of the commission or attempt to commit any of the above-mentioned offenses and who is released on probation or discharged upon payment of a fine shall, prior to such release or discharge, be informed of his duty to register under Section 11590 by the court in which he has been convicted and the court shall require the person to read and sign such form as may be required by the Department of Justice, stating that the duty of the person to register under this section has been explained to him. The court shall obtain the address where the person expects to reside upon his release or discharge and shall report within three days such address to the Department of Justice. The court shall give one copy of the form to the person, and shall send two copies to the Department of Justice, which, in turn, shall forward one copy to the appropriate law enforcement agency having local jurisdiction where the person expects to reside upon his discharge, parole, or release.

(Amended by Stats. 1974, Ch. 1403.)

11594.
  

The registration required by Section 11590 shall consist of (a) a statement in writing signed by such person, giving such information as may be required by the Department of Justice, and (b) the fingerprints and photograph of such person. Within three days thereafter the registering law enforcement agency shall forward such statement, fingerprints and photograph to the Department of Justice.

If any person required to register hereunder changes his residence address he shall inform, in writing within 10 days, the law enforcement agency with whom he last registered of his new address. The law enforcement agency shall, within three days after receipt of such information, forward it to the Department of Justice. The Department of Justice shall forward appropriate registration data to the law enforcement agency having local jurisdiction of the new place of residence.

All registration requirements set forth in this article shall terminate five years after the discharge from prison, release from jail or termination of probation or parole of the person convicted. Nothing in this section shall be construed to conflict with the provisions of Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code concerning termination of probation and release from penalties and disabilities of probation.

Any person required to register under the provisions of this section who shall knowingly violate any of the provisions thereof is guilty of a misdemeanor.

The statements, photographs and fingerprints herein required shall not be open to inspection by the public or by any person other than a regularly employed peace or other law enforcement officer.

(Amended by Stats. 1974, Ch. 1403.)

11595.
  

The provisions of former Article 6 (commencing with Section 1850) of Chapter 7 of Division 10 of this code, which is repealed by the act that adds this article, including Section 11850 as amended by Chapter 796 of the Statutes of 1972, shall remain in effect as to any person who comes within such provisions.

Notwithstanding Section 9605 of the Government Code, the changes which are made in former Section 11850 by Chapter 796 of the Statutes of 1972 shall be effective and operative for the purposes of this section.

(Added by Stats. 1972, Ch. 1407.)

HSCHealth and Safety Code - HSC4.