Code Section Group

Education Code - EDC

TITLE 1 GENERAL EDUCATION CODE PROVISIONS [1. - 32500]

  ( Title 1 enacted by Stats. 1976, Ch. 1010. )

DIVISION 1 GENERAL EDUCATION CODE PROVISIONS [1. - 32500]

  ( Division 1 enacted by Stats. 1976, Ch. 1010. )

PART 6. EDUCATION PROGRAMS—STATE MASTER PLANS [8006 - 9004]

  ( Part 6 enacted by Stats. 1976, Ch. 1010. )

CHAPTER 2. Child Care and Development Services Act [8200 - 8498]

  ( Heading of Chapter 2 amended by Stats. 1980, Ch. 798, Sec. 1. )

ARTICLE 7. California State Preschool Programs [8235 - 8239.1]
  ( Heading of Article 7 amended by Stats. 2008, Ch. 308, Sec. 2. )

8235.
  

(a) The Superintendent shall administer all California state preschool programs. Those programs shall include, but not be limited to, part-day age and developmentally appropriate programs designed to facilitate the transition to kindergarten for three- and four-year-old children in educational development, health services, social services, nutritional services, parent education and parent participation, evaluation, and staff development. Preschool programs for which federal reimbursement is not available shall be funded as prescribed by the Legislature in the Budget Act, and unless otherwise specified by the Legislature, shall not use federal funds made available through Title XX of the federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Sec. 1397).

(b) Three- and four-year-old children are eligible for the part-day California state preschool program if the family meets at least one of the criteria specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 8263.

(c) Notwithstanding any other law, a part-day California state preschool program may provide services to children in families whose income is no more than 15 percent above the income eligibility threshold, as described in Sections 8263 and 8263.1, after all eligible three- and four-year-old children have been enrolled. No more than 10 percent of children enrolled, calculated throughout the participating program’s entire contract, may be filled by children in families above the income eligibility threshold.

(d) Notwithstanding any other law, after all otherwise eligible children have been enrolled, a part-day California state preschool program may provide services to three- and four-year-old children in families whose income is above the income eligibility threshold if those children have been identified as “children with exceptional needs” pursuant to subdivision (l) of Section 8208. Children receiving services pursuant to this subdivision shall not count towards the 10-percent limit of children from families above the income eligibility threshold as specified in subdivision (c).

(e) A part-day California state preschool program shall operate for a minimum of (1) three hours per day, excluding time for home-to-school transportation, and (2) a minimum of 175 days per year, unless the contract specifies a lower number of days of operation.

(f) Any agency described in subdivision (c) of Section 8208 as an “applicant or contracting agency” is eligible to contract to operate a California state preschool program.

(g) Part-day preschool services shall be reimbursed on a per capita basis, as determined by the Superintendent, and contingent on funding being provided for the part-day preschool services in the annual Budget Act.

(h) Federal Head Start funds used to provide services to families receiving California state preschool services shall be deemed nonrestricted funds.

(i) School districts and charter schools that administer a California state preschool program may place four-year-old children in a transitional kindergarten program classroom in accordance with subdivisions (h) to (j), inclusive, of Section 48000.

(Amended by Stats. 2018, Ch. 32, Sec. 8. (AB 1808) Effective June 27, 2018.)

8235.5.
  

(a) (1) A local educational agency exempt from licensing pursuant to subdivision (o) of Section 1596.792 of the Health and Safety Code shall use the uniform complaint process it has adopted as required by Chapter 5.1 (commencing with Section 4600) of Division 1 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations, with modifications, as necessary, to resolve any deficiencies related to preschool health and safety issues for a California state preschool program pursuant to Section 1596.7925 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) A complaint may be filed anonymously. A complainant who identifies himself or herself is entitled to a response if he or she indicates that a response is requested. A complaint form shall include a space to mark to indicate whether a response is requested. If Section 48985 is otherwise applicable, the response, if requested, and report shall be written in English and the primary language in which the complaint was filed. All complaints and responses are public records.

(3) The complaint form shall specify the location for filing a complaint. A complainant may add as much text to explain the complaint as he or she wishes.

(4) A complaint shall be filed with the preschool program administrator or his or her designee. A complaint about problems beyond the authority of the preschool program administrator shall be forwarded in a timely manner, but not to exceed 10 working days to the appropriate local educational agency official for resolution.

(b) The preschool program administrator or the designee of the district superintendent, as applicable, shall make all reasonable efforts to investigate any problem within his or her authority. Investigations shall begin within 10 days of the receipt of the complaint. The preschool program administrator or designee of the district superintendent shall remedy a valid complaint within a reasonable time period, but not to exceed 30 working days from the date the complaint was received. The preschool program administrator or designee of the district superintendent shall report to the complainant the resolution of the complaint within 45 working days of the initial filing. If the preschool program administrator makes this report, the preschool program administrator shall also report the same information in the same timeframe to the designee of the district superintendent.

(c) A complainant not satisfied with the resolution of the preschool program administrator or the designee of the district superintendent has the right to describe the complaint to the governing board or body, as applicable, of the local educational agency at a regularly scheduled hearing of the governing board or body, as applicable, of the local educational agency. A complainant who is not satisfied with the resolution proffered by the preschool program administrator or the designee of the district superintendent has the right to file an appeal to the Superintendent.

(d) A local educational agency shall report summarized data on the nature and resolution of all complaints on a quarterly basis to the county superintendent of schools and the governing board or body, as applicable, of the local educational agency. The summaries shall be publicly reported on a quarterly basis at a regularly scheduled meeting of the governing board or body, as applicable, of the local educational agency. The report shall include the number of complaints by general subject area with the number of resolved and unresolved complaints. The complaints and written responses shall be available as public records.

(e) In order to identify appropriate subjects of complaint, a notice shall be posted in each California state preschool program classroom in each school in the local educational agency notifying parents, guardians, pupils, and teachers of both of the following:

(1) The health and safety requirements under Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations that apply to California state preschool programs pursuant to Section 1596.7925 of the Health and Safety Code.

(2) The location at which to obtain a form to file a complaint. Posting a notice downloadable from the Internet Web site of the department shall satisfy this requirement.

(f) A local educational agency shall establish local policies and procedures, post notices, and implement this section.

(g) For purposes of this section, “local educational agency” means a school district, county office of education, or charter school.

(Added by Stats. 2018, Ch. 32, Sec. 9. (AB 1808) Effective June 27, 2018.)

8236.
  

(a) (1) Each applicant or contracting agency funded pursuant to Section 8235 shall give first priority to three- or four-year-old neglected or abused children who are recipients of child protective services, or who are at risk of being neglected, abused, or exploited upon written referral from a legal, medical, or social service agency. If an agency is unable to enroll a child in this first priority category, the agency shall refer the child’s parent or guardian to local resources and referral services so that services for the child can be located.

(2) Notwithstanding Section 8263, after children in the first priority category set forth in paragraph (1) are enrolled, each agency funded pursuant to Section 8235 shall give priority to eligible four-year-old children who are not enrolled in a state-funded transitional kindergarten program before enrolling eligible three-year-old children. Each agency shall certify to the Superintendent that enrollment priority is being given to eligible four-year-old children.

(b) For California state preschool programs operating with funding that was initially allocated in a prior fiscal year, at least one-half of the children enrolled at a preschool site shall be four-year-old children. Any exception to this requirement shall be approved by the Superintendent. The Superintendent shall inform the Department of Finance of any exceptions that have been granted and the reasons for granting the exceptions.

(c) (1) (A) Commencing June 15, 2015, and notwithstanding any other law, in awarding new funding for the expansion of a California state preschool program that is appropriated by the Legislature for that purpose in any fiscal year, the Superintendent, after taking into account the geographic criteria established pursuant to Section 8279.3 and the data described in subparagraph (B), shall give priority to applicant agencies that, in expending the expansion funds, will provide the greatest progress toward achieving access to full-day, full-year services for all income-eligible four-year-old children.

(B) In awarding funding pursuant to subparagraph (A) and in order to promote access for all income-eligible four-year-old children to at least a part-day California state preschool program, the department shall take into account the needs assessments submitted to the department pursuant to Section 8499.5 and any other high-quality data resources available to the department.

(2) Expansion funding awarded pursuant to paragraph (1) shall be apportioned at the rate described in Section 8265 and as determined in the annual Budget Act.

(3) A family child care home education network shall be eligible to apply for expansion funding awarded pursuant to paragraph (1).

(d) This section does not preclude a local educational agency from subcontracting with an appropriate public or private agency to operate a California state preschool program and to apply for funds made available for purposes of this section. If a school district chooses not to operate or subcontract for a California state preschool program, the Superintendent shall work with the county office of education and other eligible agencies to explore possible opportunities in contracting or alternative subcontracting to provide a California state preschool program.

(e)  This section does not prevent eligible children who are receiving services from continuing to receive those services in future years pursuant to this chapter.

(Amended by Stats. 2014, Ch. 32, Sec. 4. (SB 858) Effective June 20, 2014.)

8236.1.
  

The department shall annually monitor funding used in general child care and development programs for infants and toddlers, and hours of service provided in the California state preschool program, and shall annually report to the Department of Finance and to the Legislature a statewide summary identifying the estimated funding used for infants and toddlers, and the number of preschool age children receiving part-day preschool and wraparound child care services, as defined in subdivision (f) of Section 8239. The annual report shall include a comparison to the prior year on a county-by-county basis.

(Amended by Stats. 2012, Ch. 38, Sec. 8. (SB 1016) Effective June 27, 2012.)

8237.
  

A part-day California state preschool program contracting agency has 120 calendar days prior to the first day of the beginning of the new preschool year to certify eligibility and enroll families into their program. Subsequent to enrollment, a child shall be deemed eligible for a part-day California state preschool program for the remainder of the program year.

(Amended by Stats. 2008, Ch. 308, Sec. 7. Effective January 1, 2009. Operative July 1, 2009, by Sec. 11 of Ch. 308.)

8238.
  

As a condition of receipt of funds pursuant to Section 8238.4, a participating part-day preschool program shall coordinate the provision of all of the following:

(a) Opportunities for parents and legal guardians to work with their children on interactive literacy activities. For purposes of this subdivision, “interactive literacy activities” means activities in which parents or legal guardians actively participate in facilitating the acquisition by their children of prereading skills through guided activities such as shared reading, learning the alphabet, and basic vocabulary development.

(b) Parenting education for parents and legal guardians of children in participating classrooms to support the development by their children of literacy skills. Parenting education shall include, but not be limited to, instruction in all of the following:

(1) Providing support for the educational growth and success of their children.

(2) Improving parent-school communications and parental understanding of school structures and expectations.

(3) Becoming active partners with teachers in the education of their children.

(4) Improving parental knowledge of local resources for the identification of and services for developmental disabilities, including, but not limited to, contact information for school district special education referral.

(c) Referrals, as necessary, to providers of instruction in adult education and English as a second language in order to improve the academic skills of parents and legal guardians of children in participating classrooms.

(d) Staff development for teachers in participating classrooms that includes, but is not limited to, all of the following:

(1) Development of a pedagogical knowledge, including, but not limited to, improved instructional and behavioral strategies.

(2) Knowledge and application of developmentally appropriate assessments of the prereading skills of children in participating classrooms.

(3) Information on working with families, including the use of onsite coaching, for guided practice in interactive literacy activities.

(4) Providing targeted interventions for all young children to improve kindergarten readiness upon program completion.

(Amended by Stats. 2015, Ch. 13, Sec. 3. (AB 104) Effective June 24, 2015.)

8238.4.
  

(a) A family literacy supplemental grant shall be made available and distributed to qualifying California state preschool classrooms, as determined by the Superintendent, at a rate of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) per class. The Superintendent shall distribute the family literacy supplemental grant funds according to the following priorities:

(1) First priority shall be assigned to California state preschool programs that contract to receive this funding before July 1, 2012. These programs shall receive this funding until their contract is terminated or the California state preschool program no longer provides family literacy services.

(2) Second priority shall be assigned to California state preschool programs operating classrooms located in the attendance area of elementary schools in deciles 1 to 3, inclusive, based on the most recently published Academic Performance Index pursuant to Section 52056. The Superintendent shall use a lottery process in implementing this paragraph.

(b) A family literacy supplemental grant distributed pursuant to this section shall be used for purposes specified in Section 8238.

(c) Implementation of this section is contingent upon funding being provided for family literacy supplemental grants for California state preschool programs in the annual Budget Act or other statute.

(Amended by Stats. 2012, Ch. 38, Sec. 14. (SB 1016) Effective June 27, 2012.)

8239.
  

(a) The Superintendent shall encourage state preschool program applicants or contracting agencies to offer full-day services through a combination of part-day preschool slots and wraparound general child care and development programs. In order to facilitate a full day of services, all of the following shall apply:

(1) Part-day preschool programs provided pursuant to this section shall operate between 175 and 180 days.

(2) Wraparound general child care and development programs provided pursuant to this section may operate a minimum of 246 days per year unless the child development contract specified a lower minimum days of operation. Part-day general child care and development programs may operate a full day for the remainder of the year after the completion of the preschool program.

(3) Part-day preschool services combined with wraparound child care services shall be reimbursed at a base rate determined pursuant to Section 8265 and in the annual Budget Act, using adjustment factors pursuant to Section 8265.5.

(4) Three- and four-year-old children are eligible for wraparound child care services to supplement the part-day California state preschool program if the family meets at least one of the criteria specified in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 8263, and the parents meet at least one of the criteria specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 8263.

(b) For purposes of this section, “wraparound child care services” and “wraparound general child care and development programs” mean services provided for the remaining portion of the day or remainder of the year following the completion of part-day preschool services that are necessary to meet the child care needs of parents eligible pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 8263. These services shall be provided consistent with the general child care and development programs provided pursuant to Article 8 (commencing with Section 8240).

(Amended by Stats. 2015, Ch. 13, Sec. 4. (AB 104) Effective June 24, 2015.)

8239.1.
  

(a) A contracting agency shall not expel or unenroll a child because of a child’s behavior except as authorized by subdivision (c).

(b) (1) If a child exhibits persistent and serious challenging behaviors, the contracting agency shall expeditiously pursue and document reasonable steps, including, but not limited to, consulting with the child’s parents or legal guardians and teacher, to maintain the child’s safe participation in the program. The contracting agency shall inform the parents or legal guardians of a child exhibiting persistent and serious challenging behaviors of the process described in this section.

(2) (A) If the child has an individualized family service plan or individualized education program, the contracting agency, with written parental consent, shall contact the agency responsible for the individualized family service plan or individualized education program to seek consultation on serving the child.

(B) If the child does not have an individualized family service plan or individualized education program, the contracting agency shall consider, if appropriate, completing a universal screening of the child, including, but not limited to, screening the child’s social and emotional development, referring the child’s parents or legal guardians to community resources, and implementing behavior supports within the program before referring the child’s parents or legal guardians to the local agency responsible for implementing the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.).

(c) If a contracting agency has expeditiously pursued and documented reasonable steps to maintain the child’s safe participation in the program and determines, in consultation with the parents or legal guardians of the child, the child’s teacher, and, if applicable, the local agency responsible for implementing the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. Sec. 1400 et seq.), that the child’s continued enrollment would present a continued serious safety threat to the child or other enrolled children, it shall refer the parents or legal guardians to other potentially appropriate placements, the local child care resource and referral agency, or any other referral service available in the local community. The contracting agency may then unenroll the child.

(d) A contracting agency shall have up to 180 days to complete the process described in this section.

(e) This section shall apply only to California state preschool programs described in this article.

(Added by Stats. 2017, Ch. 708, Sec. 2. (AB 752) Effective January 1, 2018.)

EDCEducation Code - EDC7.