Today's Law As Amended

PDF |Add To My Favorites | print page

AB-1982 California Transportation Commission: membership.(2015-2016)

As Amends the Law Today

 The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:
(a) According to the Office of Environmental Health Assessment, approximately 8,000,000 Californians (21 percent) live in ZIP Code areas that are considered “highly impacted” by environmental, public health, and socioeconomic stressors.
(b) Nearly half of Californians live within six miles of a facility that is a significant greenhouse gas emitter (46 percent) and those persons are disproportionately people of color (62 percent).
(c) Transportation investment, historically, has been a factor in segregating communities and exacerbating health disparities.
(d) Between 1948 and 1973, urban renewal projects displaced 1,000,000 people in 2,500 communities in 993 American cities.

SEC. 2.

 Section 14502 of the Government Code is amended to read:

 The commission consists of 13 15  members appointed as follows:
(a) Nine members shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. One member Two members  shall be appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly and one member two members  shall be appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, with neither none  of these members subject to confirmation by the Senate. One member each appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and the Speaker of the Assembly shall be a person who works directly with communities in this state that are most significantly burdened by, and vulnerable to, high levels of pollution, including, but not limited to, communities with diverse racial and ethnic populations and communities with low-income populations.  A member appointed pursuant to this subdivision shall not simultaneously hold an elected public office, or serve on any local or regional public board or commission with business before the commission.
(b) One Member of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules and one Member of the Assembly appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly shall be ex officio members without vote and shall participate in the activities of the commission to the extent that such participation is not incompatible with their positions as Members of the Legislature.
(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a voting member of the commission may serve on the High-Speed Rail Authority as established in Division 19.5 (commencing with Section 185000) of the Public Utilities Code.