Code Section Group

Public Resources Code - PRC


  ( Division 23.3 added by Stats. 2004, Ch. 726, Sec. 1. )

CHAPTER 1. General Provisions and Definitions [33300 - 33302]
  ( Chapter 1 added by Stats. 2004, Ch. 726, Sec. 1. )


This division shall be known, and may be cited, as the Laird-Leslie Sierra Nevada Conservancy Act.

(Added by Stats. 2004, Ch. 726, Sec. 1. Effective January 1, 2005.)


The Legislature finds and declares all of the following:

(a) The Sierra Nevada Region is a globally significant area, including many national and state parks, the highest peaks in the 48 contiguous states, and large, pristine areas that are open for public use.

(b) The Sierra Nevada Region is an important part of the state’s economy, providing substantial agricultural products, timber resources, ranching, mining, tourism, and recreation.

(c) The Sierra Nevada Region provides 65 percent of California’s developed water supply and nearly all of the water supply for western Nevada. As California’s principal watershed, the region is the critical source of water for urban and rural parts of northern and southern California.

(d) In cooperation with local governments, private business, nonprofit organizations, and the public, a Sierra Nevada Conservancy can help do all of the following:

(1) Provide increased opportunities for tourism and recreation.

(2) Protect, conserve, and restore the region’s physical, cultural, archaeological, historical, and living resources.

(3) Aid in the preservation of working landscapes.

(4) Reduce the risk of natural disasters, such as wildfires.

(5) Protect and improve water and air quality.

(6) Assist the regional economy through the operation of the conservancy’s program.

(7) Identify the highest priority projects and initiatives for which funding is needed.

(8) Undertake efforts to enhance public use and enjoyment of lands owned by the public.

(9) Support efforts that advance both environmental preservation and the economic well-being of Sierra residents in a complementary manner.

(Added by Stats. 2004, Ch. 726, Sec. 1. Effective January 1, 2005.)


For the purposes of this division, the following terms have the following meanings:

(a) “Board” means the Governing Board of the Sierra Nevada Conservancy.

(b) “Conservancy” means the Sierra Nevada Conservancy.

(c) “Fund” means the Sierra Nevada Conservancy Fund created pursuant to Section 33355.

(d) “Local public agency” means a city, county, district, or joint powers authority.

(e) “Nonprofit organization” means a private, nonprofit organization that qualifies for exempt status under Section 501(c)(3) of Title 26 of the United States Code, and whose charitable purposes are consistent with the purposes of the conservancy as set forth in this division.

(f) “Region” or “Sierra Nevada Region” means the area lying within the Counties of Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Inyo, Kern, Lassen, Madera, Mariposa, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Tehama, Tulare, Tuolumne, and Yuba, described as the area bounded as follows:

On the east by the eastern boundary of the State of California; the crest of the White/Inyo ranges; and State Routes 395 and 14 south of Olancha; on the south by State Route 58, Tehachapi Creek, and Caliente Creek; on the west by the line of 1,250 feet above sea level from Caliente Creek to the Kern/Tulare County line; the lower level of the western slope’s blue oak woodland, from the Kern/Tulare County line to the Sacramento River near the mouth of Seven-Mile Creek north of Red Bluff; the Sacramento River from Seven-Mile Creek north to Cow Creek below Redding; Cow Creek, Little Cow Creek, Dry Creek, and the Shasta National Forest portion of Bear Mountain Road, between the Sacramento River and Shasta Lake; the Pit River Arm of Shasta Lake; the northerly boundary of the Pit River watershed; the southerly and easterly boundaries of Siskiyou County; and within Modoc County, the easterly boundary of the Klamath River watershed; and on the north by the northern boundary of the State of California; excluding both of the following:

(1) The Lake Tahoe Region, as described in Section 66905.5 of the Government Code, where it is defined as “region.”

(2) The San Joaquin River Parkway, as described in Section 32510.

(g) “Subregions” means the six subregions in which the Sierra Nevada Region is located, described as follows:

(1) The north Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of Lassen, Modoc, and Shasta.

(2) The north central Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of Butte, Plumas, Sierra, and Tehama.

(3) The central Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, and Yuba.

(4) The south central Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, and Tuolumne.

(5) The east Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of Alpine, Inyo, and Mono.

(6) The south Sierra subregion, comprising the Counties of Fresno, Kern, Madera, and Tulare.

(h) “Tribal organization” means an Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized group or community, or a tribal agency authorized by a tribe, which is one or both of the following:

(1) Recognized by the United States and identified within the most current Federal Register.

(2) Listed on the contact list maintained by the Native American Heritage Commission as a California Native American tribe.

(Amended by Stats. 2018, Ch. 499, Sec. 1. (AB 2849) Effective January 1, 2019.)

PRCPublic Resources Code - PRC