Code Section Group

Penal Code - PEN

PART 6. CONTROL OF DEADLY WEAPONS [16000 - 34370]

  ( Part 6 added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. )

TITLE 4. FIREARMS [23500 - 34370]

  ( Title 4 added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. )

DIVISION 9. SPECIAL FIREARM RULES RELATING TO PARTICULAR PERSONS [29610 - 30165]

  ( Division 9 added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. )

CHAPTER 2. Person Convicted of Specified Offense, Addicted to Narcotic, or Subject to Court Order [29800 - 29875]

  ( Chapter 2 added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. )

ARTICLE 1. Prohibitions on Firearm Access [29800 - 29830]
  ( Article 1 added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. )

29800.
  

(a) (1) Any person who has been convicted of, or has an outstanding warrant for, a felony under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or of an offense enumerated in subdivision (a), (b), or (d) of Section 23515, or who is addicted to the use of any narcotic drug, and who owns, purchases, receives, or has in possession or under custody or control any firearm is guilty of a felony.

(2) Any person who has two or more convictions for violating paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 417 and who owns, purchases, receives, or has in possession or under custody or control any firearm is guilty of a felony.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), any person who has been convicted of a felony or of an offense enumerated in Section 23515, when that conviction results from certification by the juvenile court for prosecution as an adult in an adult court under Section 707 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, and who owns or has in possession or under custody or control any firearm is guilty of a felony.

(c) Subdivision (a) shall not apply to a person who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of the United States unless either of the following criteria is satisfied:

(1) Conviction of a like offense under California law can only result in imposition of felony punishment.

(2) The defendant was sentenced to a federal correctional facility for more than 30 days, or received a fine of more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or received both punishments.

(Amended by Stats. 2017, Ch. 17, Sec. 44. (AB 103) Effective June 27, 2017.)

29805.
  

(a) Except as provided in Section 29855 or subdivision (a) of Section 29800, any person who has been convicted of, or has an outstanding warrant for, a misdemeanor violation of Section 71, 76, 136.1, 136.5, or 140, subdivision (d) of Section 148, subdivision (f) of Section 148.5, Section 171b, paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 171c, Section 171d, 186.28, 240, 241, 242, 243, 243.4, 244.5, 245, 245.5, 246.3, 247, 273.5, 273.6, 417, 417.6, 422, 422.6, 626.9, 646.9, 830.95, 17500, 17510, 25300, 25800, 30315, or 32625, subdivision (b) or (d) of Section 26100, or Section 27510, or Section 8100, 8101, or 8103 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, any firearm-related offense pursuant to Sections 871.5 and 1001.5 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 490.2 if the property taken was a firearm, or of the conduct punished in subdivision (c) of Section 27590, and who, within 10 years of the conviction, or if the individual has an outstanding warrant, owns, purchases, receives, or has in possession or under custody or control, any firearm is guilty of a public offense, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(b) The court, on forms prescribed by the Department of Justice, shall notify the department of persons subject to this section. However, the prohibition in this section may be reduced, eliminated, or conditioned as provided in Section 29855 or 29860.

(Amended (as amended by Stats. 2017, Ch. 17, Sec. 45) by Stats. 2017, Ch. 784, Sec. 1. (AB 785) Effective January 1, 2018. Note: This section was amended on Nov. 8, 2016, by initiative Prop. 63.)

29810.
  

(a) (1) Upon conviction of any offense that renders a person subject to Section 29800 or Section 29805, the person shall relinquish all firearms he or she owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control in the manner provided in this section.

(2) The court shall, upon conviction of a defendant for an offense described in subdivision (a), instruct the defendant that he or she is prohibited from owning, purchasing, receiving, possessing, or having under his or her custody or control, any firearms, ammunition, and ammunition feeding devices, including but not limited to magazines, and shall order the defendant to relinquish all firearms in the manner provided in this section. The court shall also provide the defendant with a Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form developed by the Department of Justice.

(3) Using the Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form, the defendant shall name a designee and grant the designee power of attorney for the purpose of transferring or disposing of any firearms. The designee shall be either a local law enforcement agency or a consenting third party who is not prohibited from possessing firearms under state or federal law. The designee shall, within the time periods specified in subdivisions (d) and (e), surrender the firearms to the control of a local law enforcement agency, sell the firearms to a licensed firearms dealer, or transfer the firearms for storage to a firearms dealer pursuant to Section 29830.

(b) The Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form shall do all of the following:

(1) Inform the defendant that he or she is prohibited from owning, purchasing, receiving, possessing, or having under his or her custody or control, any firearms, ammunition, and ammunition feeding devices, including but not limited to magazines, and that he or she shall relinquish all firearms through a designee within the time periods set forth in subdivision (d) or (e) by surrendering the firearms to the control of a local law enforcement agency, selling the firearms to a licensed firearms dealer, or transferring the firearms for storage to a firearms dealer pursuant to Section 29830.

(2) Inform the defendant that any cohabitant of the defendant who owns firearms must store those firearms in accordance with Section 25135.

(3) Require the defendant to declare any firearms that he or she owned, possessed, or had under his or her custody or control at the time of his or her conviction, and require the defendant to describe the firearms and provide all reasonably available information about the location of the firearms to enable a designee or law enforcement officials to locate the firearms.

(4) Require the defendant to name a designee, if the defendant declares that he or she owned, possessed, or had under his or her custody or control any firearms at the time of his or her conviction, and grant the designee power of attorney for the purpose of transferring or disposing of all firearms.

(5) Require the designee to indicate his or her consent to the designation and, except a designee that is a law enforcement agency, to declare under penalty of perjury that he or she is not prohibited from possessing any firearms under state or federal law.

(6) Require the designee to state the date each firearm was relinquished and the name of the party to whom it was relinquished, and to attach receipts from the law enforcement officer or licensed firearms dealer who took possession of the relinquished firearms.

(7) Inform the defendant and the designee of the obligation to submit the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form to the assigned probation officer within the time periods specified in subdivisions (d) and (e).

(c) (1) When a defendant is convicted of an offense described in subdivision (a), the court shall immediately assign the matter to a probation officer to investigate whether the Automated Firearms System or other credible information, such as a police report, reveals that the defendant owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control any firearms. The assigned probation officer shall receive the Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form from the defendant or the defendant’s designee, as applicable, and ensure that the Automated Firearms System has been properly updated to indicate that the defendant has relinquished those firearms.

(2) Prior to final disposition or sentencing in the case, the assigned probation officer shall report to the court whether the defendant has properly complied with the requirements of this section by relinquishing all firearms identified by the probation officer’s investigation or declared by the defendant on the Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form, and by timely submitting a completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form. The probation officer shall also report to the Department of Justice on a form to be developed by the department whether the Automated Firearms System has been updated to indicate which firearms have been relinquished by the defendant.

(3) Prior to final disposition or sentencing in the case, the court shall make findings concerning whether the probation officer’s report indicates that the defendant has relinquished all firearms as required, and whether the court has received a completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form, along with the receipts described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) or paragraph (1) of subdivision (e). The court shall ensure that these findings are included in the abstract of judgment. If necessary to avoid a delay in sentencing, the court may make and enter these findings within 14 days of sentencing.

(4) If the court finds probable cause that the defendant has failed to relinquish any firearms as required, the court shall order the search for and removal of any firearms at any location where the judge has probable cause to believe the defendant’s firearms are located. The court shall state with specificity the reasons for and scope of the search and seizure authorized by the order.

(5) Failure by a defendant to timely file the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form with the assigned probation officer shall constitute an infraction punishable by a fine not exceeding one hundred dollars ($100).

(d) The following procedures shall apply to any defendant who is a prohibited person within the meaning of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) who does not remain in custody at any time within the five-day period following conviction:

(1) The designee shall dispose of any firearms the defendant owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control within five days of the conviction by surrendering the firearms to the control of a local law enforcement agency, selling the firearms to a licensed firearms dealer, or transferring the firearms for storage to a firearms dealer pursuant to Section 29830, in accordance with the wishes of the defendant. Any proceeds from the sale of the firearms shall become the property of the defendant. The law enforcement officer or licensed dealer taking possession of any firearms pursuant to this subdivision shall issue a receipt to the designee describing the firearms and listing any serial number or other identification on the firearms at the time of surrender.

(2) If the defendant owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control any firearms to relinquish, the defendant’s designee shall submit the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form to the assigned probation officer within five days following the conviction, along with the receipts described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) showing the defendant’s firearms were surrendered to a local law enforcement agency or sold or transferred to a licensed firearms dealer.

(3) If the defendant does not own, possess, or have under his or her custody or control any firearms to relinquish, he or she shall, within five days following conviction, submit the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form to the assigned probation officer, with a statement affirming that he or she has no firearms to be relinquished.

(e) The following procedures shall apply to any defendant who is a prohibited person within the meaning of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) who is in custody at any point within the five-day period following conviction:

(1) The designee shall dispose of any firearms the defendant owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control within 14 days of the conviction by surrendering the firearms to the control of a local law enforcement agency, selling the firearms to a licensed firearms dealer, or transferring the firearms for storage to a firearms dealer pursuant to Section 29830, in accordance with the wishes of the defendant. Any proceeds from the sale of the firearms shall become the property of the defendant. The law enforcement officer or licensed dealer taking possession of any firearms pursuant to this subdivision shall issue a receipt to the designee describing the firearms and listing any serial number or other identification on the firearms at the time of surrender.

(2) If the defendant owns, possesses, or has under his or her custody or control any firearms to relinquish, the defendant’s designee shall submit the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form to the assigned probation officer, within 14 days following conviction, along with the receipts described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) showing the defendant’s firearms were surrendered to a local law enforcement agency or sold or transferred to a licensed firearms dealer.

(3) If the defendant does not own, possess, or have under his or her custody or control any firearms to relinquish, he or she shall, within 14 days following conviction, submit the completed Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form to the assigned probation officer, with a statement affirming that he or she has no firearms to be relinquished.

(4) If the defendant is released from custody during the 14 days following conviction and a designee has not yet taken temporary possession of each firearm to be relinquished as described above, the defendant shall, within five days following his or her release, relinquish each firearm required to be relinquished pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (d).

(f) For good cause, the court may shorten or enlarge the time periods specified in subdivisions (d) and (e), enlarge the time period specified in paragraph (3) of subdivision (c), or allow an alternative method of relinquishment.

(g) The defendant shall not be subject to prosecution for unlawful possession of any firearms declared on the Prohibited Persons Relinquishment Form if the firearms are relinquished as required.

(h) Any firearms that would otherwise be subject to relinquishment by a defendant under this section, but which are lawfully owned by a cohabitant of the defendant, shall be exempt from relinquishment, provided the defendant is notified that the cohabitant must store the firearm in accordance with Section 25135.

(i) A law enforcement agency shall update the Automated Firearms System to reflect any firearms that were relinquished to the agency pursuant to this section. A law enforcement agency shall retain a firearm that was relinquished to the agency pursuant to this section for 30 days after the date the firearm was relinquished. After the 30-day period has expired, the firearm is subject to destruction, retention, sale or other transfer by the agency, except upon the certificate of a judge of a court of record, or of the district attorney of the county, that the retention of the firearm is necessary or proper to the ends of justice, or if the defendant provides written notice of an intent to appeal a conviction for an offense described in subdivision (a), or if the Automated Firearms System indicates that the firearm was reported lost or stolen by the lawful owner. If the firearm was reported lost or stolen, the firearm shall be restored to the lawful owner, as soon as its use as evidence has been served, upon the lawful owner’s identification of the weapon and proof of ownership, and after the law enforcement agency has complied with Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 33850) of Division 11 of Title 4. The agency shall notify the Department of Justice of the disposition of relinquished firearms pursuant to Section 34010.

(j) A city, county, or city and county, or a state agency may adopt a regulation, ordinance, or resolution imposing a charge equal to its administrative costs relating to the seizure, impounding, storage, or release of a firearm pursuant to Section 33880.

(k) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2018.

(Repealed (in Sec. 10.3) and added November 8, 2016, by initiative Proposition 63, Sec. 10.4. Section operative January 1, 2018, by its own provisions.)

29815.
  

(a) Any person who, as an express condition of probation, is prohibited or restricted from owning, possessing, controlling, receiving, or purchasing a firearm and who owns, purchases, receives, or has in possession or under custody or control, any firearm, but who is not subject to Section 29805 or subdivision (a) of Section 29800, is guilty of a public offense, which shall be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(b) The court, on forms provided by the Department of Justice, shall notify the department of persons subject to this section. The notice shall include a copy of the order of probation and a copy of any minute order or abstract reflecting the order and conditions of probation.

(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. (SB 1080) Effective January 1, 2011. Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)

29820.
  

(a) This section applies to any person who satisfies both of the following requirements:

(1) The person is alleged to have committed an offense listed in subdivision (b) of Section 707 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, an offense described in subdivision (b) of Section 1203.073, any offense enumerated in Section 29805, or any offense described in Section 25850, subdivision (a) of Section 25400, or subdivision (a) of Section 26100.

(2) The person is subsequently adjudged a ward of the juvenile court within the meaning of Section 602 of the Welfare and Institutions Code because the person committed an offense listed in subdivision (b) of Section 707 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, an offense described in subdivision (b) of Section 1203.073, any offense enumerated in Section 29805, or any offense described in Section 25850, subdivision (a) of Section 25400, or subdivision (a) of Section 26100.

(b) Any person described in subdivision (a) shall not own, or have in possession or under custody or control, any firearm until the age of 30 years.

(c) A violation of this section shall be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(d) The juvenile court, on forms prescribed by the Department of Justice, shall notify the department of persons subject to this section. Notwithstanding any other law, the forms required to be submitted to the department pursuant to this section may be used to determine eligibility to acquire a firearm.

(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6. (SB 1080) Effective January 1, 2011. Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)

29825.
  

(a) Every person who purchases or receives, or attempts to purchase or receive, a firearm knowing that the person is prohibited from doing so by a temporary restraining order or injunction issued pursuant to Section 527.6, 527.8, or 527.85 of the Code of Civil Procedure, a protective order as defined in Section 6218 of the Family Code, a protective order issued pursuant to Section 136.2 or 646.91 of this code, or a protective order issued pursuant to Section 15657.03 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is guilty of a public offense, which shall be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year or in the state prison, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(b) Every person who owns or possesses a firearm knowing that the person is prohibited from doing so by a temporary restraining order or injunction issued pursuant to Section 527.6, 527.8, or 527.85 of the Code of Civil Procedure, a protective order as defined in Section 6218 of the Family Code, a protective order issued pursuant to Section 136.2 or 646.91 of this code, or a protective order issued pursuant to Section 15657.03 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, is guilty of a public offense, which shall be punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.

(c) If probation is granted upon conviction of a violation of this section, the court shall impose probation consistent with Section 1203.097.

(d) The Judicial Council shall provide notice on all protective orders that the respondent is prohibited from owning, possessing, purchasing, receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive a firearm while the protective order is in effect. The order shall also state that a firearm owned or possessed by the person shall be relinquished to the local law enforcement agency for that jurisdiction, sold to a licensed firearms dealer, or transferred to a licensed firearms dealer pursuant to Section 29830 for the duration of the period that the protective order is in effect, and that proof of surrender or sale shall be filed within a specified time of receipt of the order. The order shall state the penalties for a violation of the prohibition. The order shall also state on its face the expiration date for relinquishment.

(Amended by Stats. 2013, Ch. 739, Sec. 3. (AB 539) Effective January 1, 2014.)

29830.
  

(a) Any person who is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm or ammunition pursuant to this article, or who is prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm or ammunition pursuant to any other law, may transfer or cause to be transferred, any firearm or firearms or ammunition in his or her possession, or of which he or she is the owner, to a firearms dealer licensed pursuant to Section 26700 to 26915, inclusive, for storage during the duration of the prohibition, if the prohibition on owning or possessing the firearm will expire on a date specified in the court order.

(b) A firearms dealer who stores a firearm or firearms or ammunition pursuant to subdivision (a), may charge the owner a reasonable fee for the storage of the firearm or firearms or ammunition.

(c) A firearms dealer who stores a firearm or firearms or ammunition pursuant to subdivision (a) shall notify the Department of Justice of the date that the firearms dealer has taken possession of the firearm or firearms or ammunition.

(d) Any firearm that is returned by a dealer to the owner of the firearm pursuant to this section shall be returned in accordance with the procedures set forth in Section 27540 and Article 1 (commencing with Section 26700) and Article 2 (commencing with Section 26800) of Chapter 2 of Division 6.

(Amended by Stats. 2015, Ch. 205, Sec. 2. (AB 950) Effective January 1, 2016.)

PENPenal Code - PEN1