Code Section Group

Penal Code - PEN

PART 3. OF IMPRISONMENT AND THE DEATH PENALTY [2000 - 10007]

  ( Part 3 repealed and added by Stats. 1941, Ch. 106. )

TITLE 6. REPRIEVES, PARDONS AND COMMUTATIONS [4800 - 4906]

  ( Title 6 added by Stats. 1941, Ch. 106. )

CHAPTER 5. Indemnity for Persons Erroneously Convicted and Pardoned [4900 - 4906]
  ( Chapter 5 added by Stats. 1941, Ch. 106. )

4900.
  

Any person who, having been convicted of any crime against the state amounting to a felony and imprisoned in the state prison or incarcerated in county jail pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for that conviction, is granted a pardon by the Governor for the reason that the crime with which he or she was charged was either not committed at all or, if committed, was not committed by him or her, or who, being innocent of the crime with which he or she was charged for either of the foregoing reasons, shall have served the term or any part thereof for which he or she was imprisoned in state prison or incarcerated in county jail, may, under the conditions provided under this chapter, present a claim against the state to the California Victim Compensation Board for the pecuniary injury sustained by him or her through the erroneous conviction and imprisonment or incarceration.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 250. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

4901.
  

(a) A claim under Section 4900, accompanied by a statement of the facts constituting the claim, verified in the manner provided for the verification of complaints in civil actions, is required to be presented by the claimant to the California Victim Compensation Board within a period of two years after judgment of acquittal or after pardon granted, or after release from custody, and no claim not so presented shall be considered by the California Victim Compensation Board.

(b) For purposes of subdivision (a), “release from custody” means release from imprisonment from state prison or from incarceration in county jail when there is no subsequent parole jurisdiction exercised by the Department of Correction and Rehabilitation or postrelease jurisdiction under a community corrections program, or when there is a parole period or postrelease period subject to jurisdiction of a community corrections program, when that period ends.

(c) A person may not file a claim under Section 4900 until 60 days have passed since the date of reversal of conviction or granting of the writ, or while the case is pending upon an initial refiling, or until a complaint or information has been dismissed a single time.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 251. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

4902.
  

(a) If the provisions of Section 851.865 or 1485.55 apply in any claim, the California Victim Compensation Board shall, within 30 days of the presentation of the claim, calculate the compensation for the claimant pursuant to Section 4904 and recommend to the Legislature payment of that sum. As to any claim to which Section 851.865 or 1485.55 does not apply, the Attorney General shall respond to the claim within 60 days or request an extension of time, upon a showing of good cause.

(b) Upon receipt of a response from the Attorney General, the board shall fix a time and place for the hearing of the claim, and shall mail notice thereof to the claimant and to the Attorney General at least 15 days prior to the time fixed for the hearing. The board shall use reasonable diligence in setting the date for the hearing and shall attempt to set the date for the hearing at the earliest date convenient for the parties and the board.

(c) If the time period for response elapses without a request for extension or a response from the Attorney General pursuant to subdivision (a), the board shall fix a time and place for the hearing of the claim, mail notice thereof to the claimant at least 15 days prior to the time fixed for the hearing, and make a recommendation based on the claimant’s verified claim and any evidence presented by him or her.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 252. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

4903.
  

(a) At the hearing the claimant shall introduce evidence in support of the claim, and the Attorney General may introduce evidence in opposition thereto. The claimant shall prove the facts set forth in the statement constituting the claim, including the fact that the crime with which he or she was charged was either not committed at all, or, if committed, was not committed by him or her, and the pecuniary injury sustained by him or her through his or her erroneous conviction and imprisonment.

(b) In a hearing before the board, the factual findings and credibility determinations establishing the court’s basis for granting a writ of habeas corpus, a motion for new trial pursuant to Section 1473.6, or an application for a certificate of factual innocence as described in Section 1485.5 shall be binding on the Attorney General, the factfinder, and the board.

(c) The board shall deny payment of any claim if the board finds by a preponderance of the evidence that a claimant pled guilty with the specific intent to protect another from prosecution for the underlying conviction for which the claimant is seeking compensation.

(Amended by Stats. 2013, Ch. 800, Sec. 7. (SB 618) Effective January 1, 2014.)

4904.
  

If the evidence shows that the crime with which the claimant was charged was either not committed at all, or, if committed, was not committed by the claimant, and that the claimant has sustained injury through his or her erroneous conviction and imprisonment, the California Victim Compensation Board shall report the facts of the case and its conclusions to the next Legislature, with a recommendation that the Legislature make an appropriation for the purpose of indemnifying the claimant for the injury. The amount of the appropriation recommended shall be a sum equivalent to one hundred forty dollars ($140) per day of incarceration served, and shall include any time spent in custody, including in a county jail, that is considered to be part of the term of incarceration. That appropriation shall not be treated as gross income to the recipient under the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 253. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

4905.
  

The California Victim Compensation Board shall make up its report and recommendation and shall give to the Controller a statement showing its recommendations for appropriations under this chapter, as provided by law in cases of other claimants against the state for which no appropriations have been made.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 254. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

4906.
  

The California Victim Compensation Board is hereby authorized to make all needful rules and regulations consistent with the law for the purpose of carrying into effect this chapter.

(Amended by Stats. 2016, Ch. 31, Sec. 255. (SB 836) Effective June 27, 2016.)

PENPenal Code - PEN